Grouper Moon Project Supporters


We would like to thank our collaborators at the Cayman Islands Department of the Environment, specifically Phil Bush, Bradley Johnson, Croy McCoy, James Gibb, Tim Austin, Gina Ebanks-Pietre, Keith Neale, Delwin McLaughlin, Kevin Jackson, and Robert Walton, as well as Drs. Scott and Selina Heppell from Oregon State University. REEF Volunteers have always been at the core of our Grouper Moon field work and 2011 was no exception – heartfelt thanks to Heather George, Steve Gittings, Denise Mizell, Sheryl Shea, Thor Dunmire, and Doug Kesling. Thanks to Guy Harvey and George Schellenger for their work to document the Grouper Moon Project. We were proud to have the 2010 Our World Underwater scholar, Josh Stewart, in the field with us this year. The Grouper Moon Project has continued through the years empowered by the first year’s success and the passion of early project leader Leslie Whaylen Clift. Assistance from OSU graduate student, Stephanie Kraft Archer, is also appreciated. Principal financial support for the Baby Grouper Adrift! project is from the Disney Worldwide Conservation Fund, and support for the last three years of work is from the Lenfest Ocean Program and the CIDOE. Additional funding is from hundreds of REEF members. Continued in-kind logistical support from island businesses and residents, including the Little Cayman Beach Resort/Reef Divers, the Southern Cross Club, Peter Hillenbrand, Dottie Benjamin, Mary Ellen Cutts, and Judie Clee is also much appreciated. We also greatly appreciate the generous support of Wayne Sullivan, who once again donated his vessel the Glen Ellen, his time (and patience), his equipment and technical diving expertise.


Design by Joanne Kidd, development by Ben Weintraub