Many of Hawaii's colorful underwater residents belong to the Butterflyfish family. This session will take a closer look at them and how to tell them apart.

IMPORTANT: Note the time zone and make sure you adjust it as needed for your location!

Species covered in this Fishinar:

  • Raccoon Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon lunula)
  • Oval Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon lunulatus) aka Redfin in CIP
  • Ornate Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon ornatissimus)
  • Teardrop Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon unimaculatus)
  • Threadfin Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon auriga)
  • Bluestripe Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon fremblii) endemic
  • Fourspot Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon quadrimaculatus)
  • Multiband Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon multicinctus) endemic
  • Milletseed Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon miliaris) endemic
  • Blacklip Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon kleinii)
  • Pyramid Butterflyfish, (Hemitaurichthys polylepis)
  • Reticulated Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon reticulatus)
  • Forcepsfish, (Forcipiger flavissimus) Longnose in CIP
  • Longnose Butterflyfish, (Forcipiger longirostris) aka Big Longnose in CIP
  • Lined Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon lineolatus)
  • Saddleback Butterflyfish, (Chaetodon ephippium) aka Saddled in CIP
  • Thompson's Butterflyfish, (Hemitaurichthys thompsoni)
  • Pennantfish, (Heniochus diphreutes) aka Schooling Banner in CIP