Into the Blue Book Club will be reading captivating books about the ocean and marine life. Books can range from fiction ocean-themed adventures to educational, non-fiction conservation topics. The goal of each choice is to select a book that will not only inform members on a variety of topics regarding marine science and conservation but also bring together like-minded individuals who share a common admiration for our blue planet. 

Our next club meeting will be held on November 11, 2021, at 8 pm EDT. We will be discussing Ocean Outbreak by Drew Harvell.

Book Club Meeting 5 - held on September 23, 2021

Shadow Divers

By: Robert Kurson

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 4 - held on July 29, 2021

The World is Blue: How Our Fate and the Ocean's Are One

By: Dr. Sylvia Earle

A Silent Spring for our era, this eloquent, urgent, fascinating book reveals how just 50 years of swift and dangerous oceanic change threatens the very existence of life on Earth. Legendary marine scientist Sylvia Earle portrays a planet teetering on the brink of irreversible environmental crisis.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 3 - held on June 10, 2021

Into the Planet: My Life as a Cave Diver

By: Jill Heinerth

From one of the world’s most renowned cave divers, a firsthand account of exploring the earth’s final frontier: the hidden depths of our oceans and the sunken caves inside our planet.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 2 - held on March 11, 2021

The Soul of an Octopus: A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness

By: Sy Montgomery

 With her "joyful passion for these intelligent and fascinating creatures." Montgomery chronicles the growing appreciation of this mollusk as she tells a unique love story. By turns funny, entertaining, touching, and profound, The Soul of an Octopus reveals what octopuses can teach us about the meeting of two very different minds.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 1 - held December 10, 2020 

What a Fish Knows: The Inner Lives of Our Underwater Cousins

By: Jonathan Balcombe 

Teeming with insights and exciting discoveries, What a Fish Knows offers a thoughtful appraisal of our relationships with fishes and inspires us to take a more enlightened view of the planet’s increasingly imperiled marine life. What a Fish Knows will forever change how we see our aquatic cousins―the pet goldfish included.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads