Home

Into the Blue Book Club will be reading captivating books about the ocean and marine life. Books can range from fiction ocean-themed adventures to educational, non-fiction conservation topics. The goal of each choice is to select a book that will not only inform members on a variety of topics regarding marine science and conservation but also bring together like-minded individuals who share a common admiration for our blue planet. 

Our next club meeting will be held on April 11, 2024, at 8 pm EST. We will be discussing Many Things Under a Rock by David Scheel.

Book Club Meeting 15 -held on January 18, 2024

Rain: A Natural and Cultural History of Rain 

by: Dr. Cynthia Barnett

It is the subject of countless poems and paintings; the top of the weather report; the source of the world's water. Yet this is the first book to tell the story of rain.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

Book Club Meeting 14 -held on November 9, 2023 

Below the Edge of Darkness, a Memoir of Exploring Light and Life in the Deep Sea 

by: Dr. Edith Widder 

 

Below the Edge of Darkness tells the tale of a pioneering marine biologist who takes us down into the deep ocean to understand bioluminescence—the language of light that helps life communicate in the darkness—and what it tells us about the future of life on Earth. 

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

Book Club Meeting 13 - held on July 13, 2023

Monarchs of the Sea: The Extraordinary 500-Million-Year History of Cephalopods

By: Danna Staaf

Before mammals, there were dinosaurs. And before dinosaurs, there were cephalopods—the ancestors of modern squid, octopuses, and more creatures—Earth’s first truly substantial animals. Essentially inventing the act of swimming, cephalopods presided over an undersea empire for millions of years—until fish evolved jaws, and cephalopods had to step up their game or risk being eaten. Monarchs of the Sea is a history about these bizarre but beautiful creatures that ruled the seas—and still captivate us today.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

Book Club Meeting 12 - held on April 20, 2023

Eloquence of the Sardine: Extraordinary Encounters Beneath the Sea

By: Bill Francois

A poetic blend of ancient myths, modern science, and storytelling through the ages, Eloquence of the Sardine is an invitation and guide to the dreamlike underwater world where legends are often more believable than the incredible reality.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 11 - held on January 19, 2023

The Sound of the Sea: Seashells and the Fate of the Oceans

By: Cynthia Barnett

A compelling history of seashells and the animals that make them, reveals what they have to tell us about nature, our changing oceans, and ourselves.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 10 - held on November 10, 2022

Becoming Wild

By: Carl Safina

Safina takes readers behind the curtain of life on Earth, to witness from a new vantage point the most world-saving of perceptions: how we are all connected.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 9 - held on July 14, 2022

The Island of Sea Women

By: Lisa See

Set on the Korean island of Jeju, The Island of Sea Women follows Mi-ja and Young-sook, two girls from very different backgrounds, as they begin working in the sea with their village’s all-female diving collective.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 


 

 

Book Club Meeting 8 - held on April 21, 2022

Emperors of the Deep: Sharks - The Ocean's Most Mysterious, Most Misunderstood, and Most Important Guardians

By: William McKeever

In this remarkable groundbreaking book, a documentarian and conservationist, determined to dispel misplaced fear and correct common misconceptions, explores in-depth the secret lives of sharks—magnificent creatures who play an integral part in maintaining the health of the world’s oceans and ultimately the planet.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 7 - held on January 13, 2022

Spineless: The Science of Jellyfish and the Art of Growing a Backbone

By: Juli Berwald

A former ocean scientist goes in pursuit of the slippery story of jellyfish, rediscovering her passion for marine science and the sea's imperiled ecosystems.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 6 - held on November 11, 2021

Ocean Outbreak

By: Drew Harvell

Ocean Outbreak explores the four biggest epidemics, taking the reader to the front lines of our confrontations with infectious diseases to investigate how four iconic marine animals have been devastated: starfish, abalone, salmon, and coral reefs. The stories of these outbreaks reveal how we are tipping the balance in favor of pathogens and how we can find our way back to healthier seas, combating infection with nature’s own pathogen-fighting weapons.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 5 - held on September 23, 2021

Shadow Divers

By: Robert Kurson

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two-weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 4 - held on July 29, 2021

The World is Blue: How Our Fate and the Ocean's Are One

By: Dr. Sylvia Earle

A Silent Spring for our era, this eloquent, urgent, fascinating book reveals how just 50 years of swift and dangerous oceanic change threatens the very existence of life on Earth. Legendary marine scientist Sylvia Earle portrays a planet teetering on the brink of irreversible environmental crisis.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 3 - held on June 10, 2021

Into the Planet: My Life as a Cave Diver

By: Jill Heinerth

From one of the world’s most renowned cave divers, a firsthand account of exploring the earth’s final frontier: the hidden depths of our oceans and the sunken caves inside our planet.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 2 - held on March 11, 2021

The Soul of an Octopus: A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness

By: Sy Montgomery

 With her "joyful passion for these intelligent and fascinating creatures." Montgomery chronicles the growing appreciation of this mollusk as she tells a unique love story. By turns funny, entertaining, touching, and profound, The Soul of an Octopus reveals what octopuses can teach us about the meeting of two very different minds.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads.

 

 

 

Book Club Meeting 1 - held December 10, 2020 

What a Fish Knows: The Inner Lives of Our Underwater Cousins

By: Jonathan Balcombe 

Teeming with insights and exciting discoveries, What a Fish Knows offers a thoughtful appraisal of our relationships with fishes and inspires us to take a more enlightened view of the planet’s increasingly imperiled marine life. What a Fish Knows will forever change how we see our aquatic cousins―the pet goldfish included.

A full synopsis of the novel is available on GoodReads